By Kriss_wind 0 Comment

I have a annoying problem on my PC. I have 2 partitions on my computer. On the main partition I have Windows XP Pro and I tried to install Windows XP Media Center on my second partition.

All went well until my installation froze, so I had to reboot.

Now every time I boot my PC, I keep having the choose to start with my original Windows XP Pro or Windows XP Pro Setup. And if I choose for the setup, my computer crashes.

Is there a way to remove that choose and all the other installation files from Windows Media Center
? I’ve already formatted the second partition.

It sounds like you’ve already gotten rid of the installation files by reformatting, so all that’s really left is getting rid of your boot choice. If the installer worked as I expect it did, it should be easy to fix.

There’s a hidden file in the root of your boot drive that not many people know about, called “boot.ini”. It controls what happens at boot time. In the past the thing to do was to edit this file manually, but that’s no longer necessary.

Right click on My Computer, and select Properties. Now click on the Advanced tab. In a section labeled Startup and Recovery click on the button labeled Settings. You should now be looking at a dialog like this:

Startup and Recovery options

Click on Edit to edit the startup options file (aka boot.ini) manually. That should open Notepad with something similar to the following from my machine:

[boot loader]
timeout=5
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS=”Microsoft Windows XP Professional” /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptOut
C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT=”Microsoft Windows Recovery Console” /cmdcons

In this example, you can see that I have two options to choose from when I boot: Windows XP, and the Recovery Console. I’m guessing you have an additional line for the XP Pro Setup that you had trouble with it. You can simply delete that line.

And if you’re tired of having the computer wait 30 seconds for you to choose an operating system, you can also change the timeout value, as I have in my example.

Save that file, and when you next reboot you should no longer have that additional option.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.